Archives for BFC Education Foundation

Creative Influencers to be Honoured at the BFC Fashion Awards 2016

FOR  the first time since its 1984 inauguration, the British Fashion Council’s annual Fashion Awards will honour some of the industry’s most influential, though perhaps more lesser-known creative individuals. Alongside the models, designers, business leaders and fashion icons who are every year rewarded for their accomplishments, this year’s awards will recognise the contributions of a number of behind-the-scene operatives to the sartorial world, including hair stylists, make-up artists, photographers and editors to name but a few.

Photographer Mario Testino – Creative Influencer Nominee

As the Fashion Awards this year celebrate their 32nd anniversary, the Creative Influencers nominees list comprises 32 individuals, who are as follows:
Alasdair McLellan,  Alastair McKimm, Ashley Brokaw, Camilla Lowther, Camilla Nickerson, Charlotte Tilbury, David Sims, Edward Enninful, Gary Card, Glen Luchford, Guido Palau, Harley Weir, Isamaya Ffrench, Jamie Hawkesworth, Joe McKenna, Karen Langley, Katie Grand, Lotta Volkova, Lucia Pica, Marcus Piggott, Mario Testino, Mert Atlas, Nick Knight Pat McGrath, Patrick Kinmonth, Paul Hanlon, Ronnie Cooke Newhouse, Sam McKnight, Shona Heath, Sylvia Farago, Tim Walker, Tyrone Le Bon

Make-up Artist Lucia Pica – Creative Influencer Nominee

The nominees were selected by a board of over 1500 of fashion’s most authoritative voices, including journalists, designers and retailers.

Fashion Director Karen Langley – Creative Influencer Nominee

Dame Natalie Massenet, Chairman of the British Fashion Council commented, “A key part of our new focus for The Fashion Awards is ensuring we recognise all of the industry’s key players. Thirty-two years after giving our first award this new approach means recognising excellence in both business and design, as well as putting a spotlight on creatives working outside both of these spheres. The 32 Creative Influencers to be celebrated this year are part of a community of innovative talent that is the backbone of our industry, and makes it one of the most dynamic and exciting to work in.”

Stylist Joe McKenna – Creative Influencer Nominee

The awards ceremony will be held at the Royal Albert Hall and the evening’s proceeds are to be donated to the British Fashion Council’s Education Foundation charity, which offers young creatives scholarships to some of the country’s most esteemed fashion colleges.

Hair Stylist Guido Palau – Creative Influencer Nominee

by Hannah Bergin

The awards ceremony will be held on December 5 at the Royal Albert Hall, London

BFC Announces 2016 Recipients of Fashion MA Scholarships

SINCE 1998, the British Fashion Council Education Foundation – which is funded by the annual Fashion Awards Gala – has sought to nurture the talents of young creatives in the sartorial industry, by offering scholarships in either Bachelors or Masters degrees at some of the country’s most esteemed fashion colleges. Past recipients – which include Erdem, who this year helped to fund the scheme alongside Coach, Marks & Spencer, Net-a-Porter and Eiesha Bharti Pasricha – have gone on to become some of the world’s most highly-respected designers, and it is widely expected that the winners of this year’s coveted scholarships will do the same.

The 2016 panel included Emma Farrow, Head of Design at Finery; Nabil Nayal, a designer and former scholarship recipient; Sarah Mower MBE, American Vogue journalist and BFC Ambassador for Emerging Talent. They proudly congratulate:

Cassandra Verity Green from Central Saint Martins who has been awarded a place at the Royal College of Art, to study the MA in Womenswear (Accessories); Cavan McPherson, also from Central Saint Martins who will study the MA Fashion Womenswear (Knitwear) course, also at the Royal College of Art; Geraint Brian Lewis from the University of South Wales, who will study the Menswear MA course at the University of Westminster and Yasemin Cakli from the University of Westminster who will continue his studies at Westminster, undertaking an MA in Menswear.


Designs by BFC Education Foundation MA Scholarship 2016 Recipients: Cassandra Verity Green,
Cavan McPherson, Geraint Brian Lewis and Yasemin Cakli. Image: BFC


by Hannah Bergin